Description
Charles Humfrey Snr 1772-1848 was an architect, developer, banker and mayor. He led the development of Doll’s Close, a small field beside Newmarket Road, which included building houses and terraces in Maid’s Causeway and Willow Walk. They remain an enduring legacy to his native town. He and his wife Mary had five sons and three daughters, four of the sons died before reaching 7 years but Charles Jnr and the three daughters survived.
Charles Humfrey Jnr was educated at Downing Collage in Cambridge and became involved with his father in the Cambridge Bank around 1844. Charles Jnr later became involved in the oil and candle trade, moving from Cambridge to Camberwell, Chester and Newington.






